Hi, you are logged in as , if you are not , please click here
You are shopping as , if this is not your email, please click here

HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written)

HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written)


HSK is an international standardized Chinese language proficiency test to measure the ability of non-native Chinese speakers to communicate in Chinese in daily lives, academic and working settings.

HSK comprises of 6 levels of written exam and 3 levels of oral exam.

More information about HSK Written Exam and Oral Exam (The number in the brackets indicate the approximate number of Chinese words you need to know in order to pass the exam.)

  • HSK level 1 - Can understand and use simple words and sentences to fulfil specific communication needs and have a foundation for the further study of Chinese (150 words)
  • HSK level 2 - Can communicate simply and directly on daily topics; can reach the advanced stage of beginner level (300 words)
  • HSK level 3 - Can complete basic communication tasks in daily life, study and work; can handle most communication tasks if traveling in China (600 words)
  • HSK level 4 - Can discuss a relatively wide range of topics in Chinese and be able to communicate with native speakers (1200 words)
  • HSK level 5 - Can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, appreciate Chinese films and television, and be able to write and deliver a full speech (2500 words)
  • HSK level 6 - Can easily understand what they read and listen and express themselves fluently in written and oral Chinese (5000+ words)


Please note: You must register for the exam at chinesetest.cn BEFORE paying the examination fee here. You must choose University of Central Lancashire as your exam centre. Please choose the correct level that you wish to attend, and pay the listed fee.


Please check www.chinesetest.cn for update and confirmed deadlines.

Examination fees:

Level 1 - £20

Level 2 - £30

Level 3 - £40

Level 4 - £50

Level 5 - £60

Level 6 - £70

Examination fees are non-refundable.

For any further questions or queries please contact;

UCLan Confucius Institute

[email protected]

01772 894246


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 1


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 2


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 3


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 4


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 5


HSK Chinese Proficiency Exam (Written) Level 6


How would you rate your experience today?

How can we contact you?

What could we do better?

   Change Code